Monthly Bookshelf: March 2016 (Part II)

Welcome to Part Two of my monthly roundup March. If you missed part One- it’s right here.

 

The wish to explore some American Classics made me get “The Big Sleep” by Raymond Chandler from 1939- the ancestor of all spy- and PI-fiction that followed, Chandler’s first book about Philip Marlowe, legendarily depicted by Humphrey Bogart.

I think this could be a great book for the right people, it was thrilling and Marlowe really is cool as a cucumber, but it just wasn’t for me. I was reading this in a beautiful library-book-edition with loads of wonderful illustrations- and in parts, those were what kept me reading. Really just not my kind of book, I guess.


 

Again thanks to #BustleReads, I picked up my big surprise this month: “How It Went Down” by Kekla Magoon, published in 2014. This book is picking up recent events and beautifully turns them into a book about identity, race and society. It features a shooting, a dead black teenage boy, a white shooter and loads of witnesses who each saw something else. I will definitely write a long review on this one, but let me already say: I loved it!


 

After all those important, political and classical books, I was feeling like a lighter read and went for a classic Whodunnit: “Death on the Nile” by Agatha Christie, 1937. It’s a typical Agatha Christie, which you either enjoy or you don’t. I like it.


 

One of the things I’m really passionate about is digital surveillance (or, more precisely, the preventing of the named to get too big and powerful) and Edward Snowden is one of my absolute favourites! I’ve already read a lot about him and the documents he leaked, but still I was really excited for “The Snowden Files” by Luke Harding, which tries to tell the whole story of the publications.

This was not necessarily entertainingly written, in parts I had to force myself to stay focused, which for me isn’t a good sign for books normally- but I’m still inclined to recommend this one, because it has so much to say! I do plan a collective post about books on the subject in the future.


 

Returning to my Rory Gilmore Reading Challenge, I took “The God Of The Small Things” from Arundhati Roy, first published 1997, with me on vacation- and had a good time with it.

This novel is set in 20th century India in a Christian family and, by telling their story, deals with the history of India. It’s written absolutely beautiful, the language constructions often paint vivid pictures; the story is told with child-like naivity, but then again abruptly and direct; not avoiding the traumas and the violence- absolutely genius!


 

After that I returned to my beloved criminal literature and read “Those Who Walk Away” by Patricia Highsmith (1967). This is quite different and interesting, because there’s nothing to investigate. It features father and husband of a young girl who recently killed herself and how they deal with their death.

I’ve heard a lot of people say they find this really unrealistic, but I’m in love. The Storyline is thrilling, the characters are interesting and the language light, but pleasant. Good read!

 


 

One more book that has never been translated into English: “Lenin kam nur bis Lüdenscheid” by Richard David Precht, an autobiographical novel about the childhood of German philosopher and author Precht, again quite political and not a book I would really recommend.

 

And that’s actually it…

Thanks for keeping patient until the end and I would LOVE LOVE LOVE some feedback, because I feel like there’s loads of room for improvement on these posts… Ideas? Anyone?

Leave a Reply

