A lil’ birthday book haul.

Let’s be honest: it’s been a while since I’ve turned 16, but I still wanted to share the lovely books I received as gifts.

20160613_154447

My mother gave me two books, both of which were on my wishlist. The first one: “Reading Lolita in Tehran” by Azar Nafisi, an autobiography about a women bookclub in Iran which sounds incredibly interesting. I definitely don’t read enough books set in the Middle East (Persepolis is so high up on my list!), and this one is apparently also dealing with feminism and books so I really don’t see why I still haven’t read it.

20160613_154644

She also gave me “The first bad man” by Miranda July. I honestly have no idea what this is about, but I’ve heard good stuff about it, so I’ll just read it and tell you I guess.

20160613_154754

My lovely friends got me the book at the very top of my wishlist: “Franny and Zooey” by J.D. Salinger, the only one from this haul I’ve already read. I really enjoyed this one, I’m a big Salinger-fan and this one’s definitely great. Good good stuff.

20160613_154846

Another wonderful friend gave me a gift card, so I could get another wishlist book, that ticks some boxes for good-stuff-books: dystopian novel from the 1950s about banning and burning books, which sounds absolutely up my alley…

20160613_154916

Yes, I did smuggle one german book into this, and to make up for the English-overload, it’s a real classic: “Faust” by Goethe, another giftcard buy and a classic german work I’ve started reading and really wanted a cheap edition to write and mark and bookmark the sh** out of, because that’s how I like to read the epic books.

There you go. Loads of pretty new books, basically no content because I just haven’t read them yet: definitely a successful book haul (#hashtagnohate). I’m gonna go be proud of myself and wait for your comments… lots of love!

Merken

2 thoughts on “A lil’ birthday book haul.

Leave a Reply

