Search Party – George The Poet

20161118_120805

Yes, as I said, I’ll be shamelessly gushing about this collection until every single one of you has caved in and bought it just to shut me up. Search Party by George the Poet is a collection of spoken word poetry that deserves all the praise I can give it.
Also, it’s physically beautiful, so I couldn’t refrain from taking a bazillion pictures…

20161118_120523

This is actually the first book of poetry I’ve ever read cover to cover (excluding some children’s ones), and I think it’s a perfect little stepping stool into the genre.
Since it’s spoken word poetry and very rhythmically satisfying, it really is a joy to read and still so incredibly beautiful.
It’s the kind of book you want to read aloud, and sometimes when I particularly enjoyed a poem, I went back and did just that.

20161118_120546

The collection centers around the themes of social justice and growing up, just stuff that is really huge in my life right now. While it is a very broad outlook on different aspects, the central point is definitely being a black man in the UK, on which he writes brilliantly clever poems. Still standing out to me is The Lazy Dog, which I had to reread three times immediately, just because.
The themes are relevant and in the moment, and while I thought the bits on social justice were much stronger than the ones on finding purpose in life, all of them are ingeniously wonderful.

20161118_120642

This, I think, is what I want my generation’s poetic legacy to look like, this is what I want to grow up reading and rereading, and, I’ll say it again, this is what I want everyone else to pick up asap.

Leave a Reply

