The Year-End Book Superlative Tag 2016

So, I’m obviously failing bookmas, but there is a massive, lifedraining cold to blame that has made me unable to do anything but drink tea, sleep and read for the past few days. Now, however, I’ve temporarily pulled myself up and opened my laptop for a quick tag: The Year-End Book Superlative Tag or my reading list as a yearbook, created by the wonderful Olive. Enjoy.

Most likely to be in the movies: The book that would make the best film.

I’ve got to be extremely egoistic here and say The Wolves of Willoughby Chase by Joan Aiken, a super sweet childhood favourite. It’s probably not the one best suited for cinematic reappraisal, but I just want a cosy comfort film of this so badly and I think this could become one of the classic christmas time films they air each year because there’s nothing like a lovely snowy british story to curl up with a cup of tea in front of.

Alternate answer: Much Ado About Nothing by William Shakespeare. Can someone make an over-the-top pompously modernised film version of this with an excessively equipped mask ball finale for me please?

Biggest drama queen/king: The most (overly) dramatic book or character.

I’m sorry to bring him up again, but A Comedy of Errors by William Shakepeare. Oh my f**k this play is so past everything sane. It would literally take like ten seconds to just clear up the whole thing but NO, everyone just keeps running around getting more and more caught up in the most unnecessary, ridiculous plot ever. I love it.

Best dressed: The book with the best cover.

20160615_161101.jpg

Is this the essence of gorgeous book design or what? It’s my Vintage Classics edition of Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë. Not only is it literally the most aesthetic thing (the picture, apparently, is a painting called Pteris Viscosa by Philip Taaffe), but it’s also SO FLOPPY and the most satisfying material. Genuinely the best piece of book curation I know.

Most creative: The book with the most unique plot, characters or structure.

That would be The Buddha in the Attic by Julie Otsuka. This one is about Japanese picture brides coming to the US in early 20th century, and it’s written in a collective we-voice of all of them relating their collective experience but still recounting single experiences. It’s extremely weird and wonderful, very poetic and well worth a read.

Most popular: The book with the most ratings on Goodreads.

Without a doubt To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee. Obvious really, considering probably every single American student had to read it at least once for school and additionally taking into account it’s endless brilliance.

Most likely to succeed: The book that is going to be appreciated for many years to come.

I honestly think MAUS part one and two have already reached a status of modern classicness. They’re graphic novels about a Jewish family during World War II, but also the artist Art Spiegelman talking to his father about their family history and the relationship they share. It’s hands down a brilliant book on WWII and I’d hope that it will be cherished for generations…

Class clown: The book that made you laugh.

20161219_185807

Definitely Pickwick Papers by Charles Dickens. It took me comparably long to read this, but I loved every second, I enjoyed his humour massively and indoubtedly laughed out loud more than once with this. It’s wonderful….

Most improved: The book that started off slow, but really picked up.

I honestly feel like the first few pages of The Great Gatsby by F.Scott Fitzgerald make a lot of people put it down again, it certainly had me give up once as a fourteen-year-old, but once you’ve gotten started, it’s definitely deservedly one of the Great American novels. Just getting over the start, I felt, was surprisingly hard.

Cutest couple: The cutest couple in a book.

20161219_183654

I’m terrible with names, but let’s just say I don’t want to spoil anyone… I was properly charmed with the relationship Rosie found in Anterworld at the end of Arcadia by Iain Pears, but generally, I’m not one to get excited by fictional romances. Sorry.

Biggest heart breaker: The book that broke your heart.

20161223_140247

The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath is brilliant and beautiful, but it’s also very tear-inducing and around the middle of it I was quite ruffled by it.
Still, it was sad in the most beautiful way imaginable.

So that’s that, let’s see if and how I’ll check back in with you this year or if we’re starting anew with 2017…

Leave a Reply

