Reading Bingo 2017

reading-bingo

So, you might’ve noticed there’s no post of Reading Resolutions or big plans for the year beside my (very chill) TBR. That’s because, while I love challenging myself, all I want this year’s reading to be is enjoyable and pressure-free.
I’ve got a lot of stuff going on in school right now, and there’s just more than enough pressure happening without me contributing to it further. And while I massively enjoyed #bustlereads last year, especially in November it stressed me out a lot because not only did I want to finish all tasks, but I wanted to do it in time for bookmas and loads of reviews.
While that kind of pressure might work for some, it doesn’t for me and makes reading, my literal favourite thing to do, a task I have to force myself to.

That’s why I didn’t want to do any fancy reading challenges for 2017. Until I wrote my wrap-up post for bustlereads and realised how many great books I discovered by doing it. So I decided, to keep it stressfree, to make my own reading challenge just for myself. Enter Reading Bingo 2017.

I called it that because in my reading diary, I drew a bingo field to mark my finished challenges in, inspired by the Diversity Bingo currently making its rounds on the internet. Here, however, I’ll only give you the prompts I ended up using.
I’m basically trying to challenge myself a bit to not fall asleep in my comfort zone, but very much adjusted all the tasks to fit my interests and what I’d like to personally achieve. Some may seem ridiculous, but I really feel this will just serve as a reminder to not get too comfortable, without stressing myself too much, because reading is my comfort place after all and I really need it right now.

Reading Bingo 2017 challenges:

x  Read a Shakespeare Play: The Tempest – William Shakespeare

o  Read a Collection of Poetry.

x  Read a Hyped Book You Wouldn’t Normally Read: The Power – Naomi Alderman

x  Read a Book in French: Le Petit Prince – Antoine de Saint-Éxupery

x  Reread a Book: Franny & Zooey – J.D. Salinger

x  Read a Collection of Short Stories: You Can’t Keep a Good Woman Down – Alice Walker

x  Read a Book by John Steinbeck: East of Eden – John Steinbeck

o  Read a Book Set In An African Country. (obviously #ownvoices)

o  Read a Book Set In An Asian Country. (again, definitely #ownvoices)

x  Read a Book You’ve Never Heard Of: begat – Felix Culpepper (read here and here)

x  Read a Collection of Essays: Bad Feminist – Roxane Gay

o  Reread a Book You’ve Read in 2017.

x  Read a Book Over 500 pages: Middlemarch – George Eliot

x  Read a Book That Intimidates You: Dubliners – James Joyce

x  Read a Play NOT by Shakespeare: Nathan the Wise – Gotthold Ephraim Lessing

o  Read a Man Booker Winner.

o  Read a Non-Fiction by Someone You Don’t Agree With.

I’ll try to, once again, do reviews on as many as possible and document my progress on the blog. I hope you’re as excited as I am about this, because I honestly think it’s exactly right for me right now…

Merken

Merken

Leave a Reply

